The Antique Airplane Association of Colorado (AAACO) is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit, educational organization.

Our Mission is to foster, encourage, sponsor, and promote:

  • public interest in all phases of aviation, including the history of aviation and the aircraft associated with such history;
  • public interest in the preservation, restoration, use, and knowledge of antique and classic airplanes or other flying machines; and,
  • aviation and aeronautical gatherings, shows, and exhibits.

Donate Today!

Through your charitable donation, we can continue to further our mission.


AAACO members range from non-pilots to airline captains; from Airframe and Power-plant mechanics and aerospace engineers to firefighters, teachers, and realtors. We own airplanes dating from 1923-2015. We participate in fly-ins, airport fairs and expos. We conduct aerodynamics labs in local schools. We teach kids to build truss-type wing ribs at local airshows and to build airworthy, full-scale airplanes such as our recently completed 1946 Taylorcraft BC-12-D. We provide scholarships to students who are passionate about aviation. We are a community of enthusiasts who enjoy socializing, flying, educating, building, and sharing our passion with all ages.

The AAACO is one of twenty chapters of the Antique Airplane Association (AAA), which is headquartered between Ottumwa and Blaksburg, Iowa. AAA also includes ten type clubs, providing valuable information ad contacts for specific makes of aircraft.

AAA was formed in 1953 to “Keep the Antiques Flying” and continues to make this mission priority number one. It is the worlds oldest antique and classic airplane association. The Association created AirPower Museum (APM) as a 501(c)(3) organization in 1965. APM currently boasts of tree hangars, tons of spare engine and aircraft parts, 20,000 square feet of display area, and a library. The library brims with 6,000 books and a large collection of periodicals.

AAACO and AAA membership dues are $35 and $40, respectively, per year. Neither aircraft ownership nor pilots license is required for membership. AAA membership benefits include:

  • Access to the AAA/APM Fly-In a the Antique Airfield
  • Issues of the Antique Airfield Runway printed publication
  • Eligibility for discounted aircraft and liability insurance through our Butler-Brown Insurance group plan
  • Research copy services for aviation and technical library holdings, available at cost

Visit the website, www.antiqueaurfield.com to learn more about the AAA.


News and Events

Monthly Meetings 

We gather on the first Wednesday of every month to socialize and enjoy fascinating aviation-themed presentations. We meet from 7-9PM in the Mt. Evans conference room at Rocky Mountain Metropolitan Airport (KBJC).


Workshops are held on the second and fourth Saturdays of every month from 9-12 in our hangar (unit G) on the south side of Longmont Airport. We are currently hosting workshops  to repair a Rose Parakeet.

Join Us

A membership includes access to our events and workshops for one year.

Clicking on the “Buy Now” button will take you to PayPal so you can for the annual dues.
Once the payment is confirmed, you will receive an email that contains a special link to complete your registration. Please check your spam folder for this email.
Click special link in the email to register and choose a “username” and “password” for your account.

If you do not have a PayPal account and would like to pay for your membership by check or cash, please print out the membership renewal form below and mail in.

Membership Renewal Form

Annual Membership Dues

Adult: $35

One adult membership includes access to our events and workshops for you and one guest.

Student*: $20

One student membership provides access to our events and workshops at a discounted rate for college students with a valid I.D.


If you have any questions or would like to speak with us, please email contact.aaaco@gmail.com

Board Of Directors                                                                      Charitable Trust 

Devaki Douillard, President                                                    Greg Llafet, Trustee

Kate Kennedy, Vice President                                               JD Gleitz, Trustee

Lorraine Kirkland, Treasurer                                                   Jim Douglas, Trustee

Carol Dixon, Social Media Manager                                    Steve Beach, Alternate

Ed Pruss, Director

Jim Sutton, Director